• The Packs button in the header bar gives access to your packs list from as shown below. This is the default view when you login.

    Your packs list contains all the packs you have access to. This includes all the packs you have created and the packs someone has shared with you. Each pack of cards is represented by a small card containing useful information:

    • The title of the card
    • It's description
    • The number of cards stored in the pack
    • When the pack was lastly updated
    • The owner of the pack

    The packs you own have a right pink border, so you recognize them immediately.

    Adding a Pack

    The first time you open your packs list, it will be obviously empty. From here you can create a new pack by clicking either on the link in the welcome message or on the big blue "Add Pack" button at the bottom left corner of the browser window. Adding a pack will directly open the Pack Designer with your fresh new pack.

    If you already have packs in your list, the "Add Pack" will always be available on the screen like shown below.

    Packs Lists View Options

    By default, the pack list shows the active packs sorted by name. You can change the view with the following options:

    Show Archived Packs

    Display archived packs

    In order to display the archived packs, you can toggle the switch "Show Archived Packs" at the top of the pack list. Archived packs are always displayed with a grey background.

    Sorting mode

    Sort packs by name or by size

    You can choose to sort the pack list by name (Button AZ) or by number of cards (Button with three horizontal lines). Pressing a second time on the button inverts the sorting direction (i.e. from A to Z, then from Z to A).

  • Share Packs

    Control how to share your databases with others

    You can invite additional users to collaborate on your databases. Users collaborating on a shared pack need only to have a free community subscription, no more. Keep in mind that the pack owner only can share it.

     

    To open the share preferences, simply click on the "Share" button in the top right corner of the pack card. Please note that on desktop devices, you need to move the mouse over the pack card in order to make the button appear.

    In the "Pack Permissions" dialog, you can control who can access your pack and what level of interaction you allow for each of the users. Pakker offers 3 levels of permissions:

    • The View Cards permission allows the user to only view the data. Any change performed by this user will not be saved
    • The Edit Cards permission let the user add cards and change the pack data.
    • The Pack Designer permission grants the user full control over the layout and the data of the pack
    Please note that only pack owners are allowed to change the permissions and archive the pack.

    Sharing the pack with a user

    To give access a user to your pack, you need to:

    1. enter her/his email address in the e-mail address field, 
    2. define the level of permissions you want to give. The View Cards permission is automatically selected and cannot be deselected
    3. finally, press the "Share" button.
    If everything is fine, a success alert will be displayed and the new user added to the list of users. She/he will receive an email with the details of your pack. If she/he's not yet a Pakker user, the invitation email will contain instructions how to create an account and open the pack. Otherwise, the email will just inform the user of the new pack she/he has access to.
     
    Once done you have added all the users you need, you can close the dialog with the "Close" button.

    Managing the users

    Once you have added the users, and you want to change the sharing settings, open the Pack permissions dialog with the "Share" button. In the list of users, you can:

    • Change the permission level of each user by checking on or off the permissions. Changes are immediately and automatically applied.
    • Remove completely the user access to the pack by deleting the permission using the "Trash" button. You will be prompted to confirm the permission removal.
  • Pack Changes Notification

    Getting informed when packs are changed

    If you share your pack with other users, you may find it useful to get automatically informed what cards have been changed and by whom. To open the change notifications preferences, click on the notifications icon on the pack card,

    In the "Pack Change Notifications" dialog, you can choose the periodicity of the notifications. You can choose any combinations of notifications.

    • Daily notifications are sent by email everyday with the changes of the previous calendar date. Note that because we run internationally, the change of date of the system may be not midnight in your timezone
    • Weekly Every Weekday notifications are sent by email every weekday with the changes of the previous week up to the previous day.
    The notifications are sent to your account email.

    Sharing the pack with a user

    To give access a user to your pack, you need to:

    1. enter her/his email address in the e-mail address field, 
    2. define the level of permissions you want to give. The View Cards permission is automatically selected and cannot be deselected
    3. finally, press the "Share" button.
    If everything is fine, a success alert will be displayed and the new user added to the list of users. She/he will receive an email with the details of your pack. If she/he's not yet a Pakker user, the invitation email will contain instructions how to create an account and open the pack. Otherwise, the email will just inform the user of the new pack she/he has access to.
     
    Once done you have added all the users you need, you can close the dialog with the "Close" button.

    Managing the users

    Once you have added the users, and you want to change the sharing settings, open the Pack permissions dialog with the "Share" button. In the list of users, you can:

    • Change the permission level of each user by checking on or off the permissions. Changes are immediately and automatically applied.
    • Remove completely the user access to the pack by deleting the permission using the "Trash" button. You will be prompted to confirm the permission removal.
  • Archive Packs

    Archived packs are packs that are in a frozen state. Any change to archived packs are not allowed and the sharing permissions are disabled. This means that other pack users will not see the pack in their list anymore and you will not be able to perform any change like changing data, adding new cards or changing the layout. Only the pack owner can archive a pack. Furthermore, archived packs do not count for the pack number limit related to your account subscription.

     

    To archive a pack, you simply click on the archive button in the top right corner.

    Once archived, the pack will appear only if the switch "Show Archived Packs" is set to on. Archived packs are displayed in grey cards. You can unarchive any archived pack by clicking on the "Unarchive Pack" button. Please note that unarchiving packs is not allowed if the number of active packs has reached the limit of your account subscription.